[TDA_wg] EC approval of Division B Working Groups

Rob Seaman seaman at lpl.arizona.edu
Wed Nov 18 10:07:40 EST 2015

Hello IAU Time Domain WG,

The TDA WG had a brief but productive life under Commission 5 of the IAU. We are very grateful for the support given by Comm-5 and the new C.B2. The Working Group has now been bumped up a notch to the divisional level under Div-B which will broaden our direct reach to "Facilities, Technologies and Data Science”. The time domain reaches into almost all corners of astronomy, so our ultimate goal still remains a cross-division commission to be proposed again for the 2018 GA. In the mean time we welcome collaboration from all institutions and individuals on both the science and infrastructure of time-varying phenomena of all kinds.

If you are reading this message we will forward your name to Pietro as a WG member. Non-members of the IAU will be submitted as "IAU Associates” and we encourage you to apply to the IAU in 2018. If for some reason you don’t wish to be listed in the IAU web pages, please let me know now in a private email. The mailing list will remain public.

I especially want to thank Elizabeth Griffin, Vice-chair of the WG, who has worked tirelessly to navigate the sometimes arcane process.

Rob Seaman
Chair, IAU Div B Time Domain Working Group
Catalina Sky Survey, LPL

Begin forwarded message:

> From: Pietro Ubertini <pietro.ubertini at iaps.inaf.it <mailto:pietro.ubertini at iaps.inaf.it>>
> Date: November 18, 2015 at 7:08:20 AM MST
> Subject: EC approval of Division B Working Groups
> Dear Colleagues,
> 	it is a pleasure for me to announce I have been informed by the IAU General Secretary Piero Benvenuti that:
> "the Executive Committees, after having analyzed the proposals for the constitution of the two Division B Working Groups, namely the "Time domain" and the "UV Astronomy" Working Groups, has approved both of them."
> In fact, I have to inform the IAU Secretariat of the final composition of the WGs.
> **Action list for the WGs Chair**
> Please, send to me as soon as convenient for you:
> -official titles
> -descriptions and
> -composition of members
> to be included in the IAU webpages.
> I wish to thank the WGs Chair, co-Chair and members, the DivB SC and Piero Benvenuti for the work and support resulted in the formation of the two new divisional WGs.
> Best Regards
> Pietro
> ----------------
> Pietro Ubertini
> Division B President

-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <https://pairlist10.pair.net/pipermail/tda_wg/attachments/20151118/6bfb74ff/attachment.html>

More information about the TDA_wg mailing list